

FACT SHEET FOR EMPLOYERS

Work in Paradise Incentive Scheme

The Work in Paradise Incentive Scheme is part of the Queensland Government's \$7.5 million Work in Paradise program to attract jobseekers from across Australia to take up a tourism or hospitality job in regional Queensland.

The program aims to boost the tourism and hospitality workforce to enable businesses to operate at their maximum COVID safe capacity to meet rebounding tourism demand.

The program will open for applications on 1 July 2021.

Job seekers can register their interest now at www.qld.gov.au/workinparadise

Incentive Payments

There are two incentives:

- \$1500 cash payment to take a job in tourism or hospitality in eligible regions in Queensland (see Eligible Regions). This is made in three payments after two weeks, 12 weeks and 6 months. To be eligible, applicants must present a job offer for employment of a minimum eight weeks duration, and 20 hours per week
- \$250 Job Start Travel Bonus to help cover relocation costs.

Job seekers who are eligible for the \$1500 cash incentive and relocating to take up a tourism job that is 100km from their current principal place of residence, can also apply for the \$250 Job Start Travel Bonus.

Incentive payments are made directly to the employee via an application process. Eligibility criteria will apply and available when the program guidelines are released on www.qld.gov.au/workinparadise.

Eligible employees

The employee must be a permanent resident of Australia or a temporary visa holder with Australian work rights aged over 18 years. They will also have to provide proof of identity documents, evidence of their home address and evidence of their employment from their new employer in an eligible Queensland region. The employment must be for a minimum of eight weeks and 20 hours per week for the employee to be eligible for the incentive payments.

The definition of tourism and hospitality jobs for this program is based on the nature of the employer's business, using the ANZSIC codes for tourism and hospitality businesses – see below for details of an Eligible Business.

More detailed information on the eligibility criteria will be in the program guidelines.

Eligible employer

To be considered an eligible employer, employers must meet all of the following eligibility criteria: be an eligible *tourism business;* hold a valid ABN and registered for GST; hold a valid Workcover policy, and operate in an eligible region of Queensland.

Tourism Business - means a business that primarily provides goods and services to or for which the primary/majority target market is domestic or international visitors to Queensland. This includes:

- souvenir shops, duty free stores and travel good retailers (ANZSIC code 4279)
- accommodation providers (ANZSIC code 4400)
- food and beverage services including cafes, restaurants, taverns and clubs (ANZSIC codes 4511, 4513, 4520, 4530)
- road and water transport, including sightseeing (ANZSIC codes 4623, 4820, 5010)
- rental and hiring services (ANZSIC code 6611)
- event management (ANZSIC code 7299)
- travel agencies (ANZSIC code 7220)
- heritage activities including museums, parks and gardens (ANZSIC codes 8910, 8921, 8922)
- performing arts venues (ANZSIC code 9003)
- amusement and other recreational services (ANZSIC codes 9131, 9139).

Application and assessment

Applications will be assessed against the eligibility criteria including eligible employee, eligible job role, eligible region of Queensland, completion of the required periods of employment and supporting evidence and documentation. If successful, funding will be paid to the applicant as the employee.

Applications will be assessed by the Queensland Rural and Industry Development Authority which assesses and processes a range of Queensland Government grants and incentives.

Further information

For further information on the Work in Paradise program:

Web: www.qld.gov.au/workinparadise

Email: workinparadise@dtis.qld.gov.au

Social media channels:

- Queensland Tourism Development Facebook
- Queensland Tourism Development Instagram
- DTIS LinkedIn

Eligible regions

Northern and Western Queensland regions are eligible for the Work in Paradise \$1,500 incentive and \$250 travel bonus. This comprises the following local government areas:

Local Government Areas	
Mackay-Whitsundays: 1. Isaac Regional Council 2. Mackay Regional Council 3. Whitsunday Regional Council Far North Queensland:	North Queensland: 4. Burdekin Shire Council 5. Charters Towers Regional Council 6. Hinchinbrook Shire Council 7. Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council 8. Townsville City Council Outback:
 9. Aurukun Shire Council 10. Burke Shire Council 11. Cairns Regional Council 12. Carpentaria Shire Council 13. Cassowary Coast Regional Council 14. Cook Shire Council 15. Croydon Shire Council 16. Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council 17. Douglas Shire Council 18. Etheridge Shire Council 19. Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council 20. Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council 21. Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council 22. Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council 23. Mareeba Shire Council 24. Mornington Shire Council 25. Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council 26. Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council 27. Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council 28. Tablelands Regional Council 29. Torres Shire Council 30. Torres Strait Island Regional Council 31. Weipa Town Authority 32. Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council 33. Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council 34. Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council 	35. Balonne Shire Council 36. Banana Shire Council 37. Barcaldine Regional Council 38. Barcoo Shire Council 39. Blackall-Tambo Regional Council 40. Boulia Shire Council 41. Bulloo Shire Council 42. Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council 43. Cloncurry Shire Council 44. Diamantina Shire Council 45. Flinders Shire Council 46. Goondiwindi Regional Council 47. Longreach Regional Council 48. Maranoa Regional Council 49. McKinlay Shire Council 50. Mount Isa City Council 51. Murweh Shire Council 52. Paroo Shire Council 53. Quilpie Shire Council 54. Richmond Shire Council 55. South Burnett Regional Council 56. Southern Downs Regional Council 57. Western Downs Regional Council 58. Winton Shire Council